[Ebook] Strays Like Us By Cecilia Galante – Airdomains.co.uk

Strays Like Us From The Moment Fred Never Winifred Spots A Scruffy Little Mutt With Sad Eyes, She Knows She S In Big Trouble Toby S In Bad Shape, And Fred Longs To Rescue Him From The Old Man With The Mile Long Mean Streak Who Lives Next Door But Margery The Straight Talking Woman Who Is Fostering Fred Says Going Over To Their House Is Against The Rules.And Since Fred Will Only Be Around Until Her Mother Comes To Grips With Her Dependence, Fred Can T Let Herself Care Too Deeply Not About Toby Or Margery Or Delia, A New Classmate Whose Insistent Friendship Surprises Fred At Every Turn Because The Fred Lets This Loveable Band Of Misfits Into Her Heart, The Harder It Ll Be To Leave Them All Behind.In This Story Of Loss And Love, Acclaimed Author Cecilia Galante Examines Life S Difficult Choices And How A Girl Plus The Dog She Loves Can Add Up To Finding Family In The Most Unlikely Places.

10 thoughts on “Strays Like Us

  1. says:

    E ARC from Edelweiss PlusWhen Fred s nee Winfred mother is arrested at her job in a pharmacy for stealing medication, Fred finds herself an hour from her home in Philadelphia She is in Lancaster, at the house of a no nonsense woman named Margery Margery seems nice, and she s a good cook, and Fred knows that this is very temporary The neighbor, Mr Carder, has a dog that is severely neglected, and when Fred feeds him, Mr Carder is very upset Margery has told Fred not to bother the dog, but E ARC from Edelweiss PlusWhen Fred s nee Winfred mother is arrested at her job in a pharmacy for stealing medication, Fred finds herself an hour from her home in Philadelphia She is in Lancaster, at the house of a no nonsense woman named Margery Margery seems nice, and she s a good cook, and Fred knows that this is very temporary The neighbor, Mr Carder, has a dog that is severely neglected, and whe...

  2. says:

    Thanks to scholasticinc for the free book for kidlitexchange All opinions are my own 5 for this VERY quick, emotional read by ceciliagalante It s out on June 26 Fred Winifred is being placed in foster care because her mother has a pill addiction She sees a kindred soul in the neglected dog next door and jumps at the opportunity to help him This is an excellent readalike to Whipoorwill and When Friendship Followed me Home, both popular realistic fict Thanks to scholasticinc for the free book for kidlitexchange All opinions are my own 5 for this VERY quick, emotional read by ceciliagalante It s out on June 26 Fred Winifred is being placed in foster care because her mother has a pill addiction She sees a kindred soul in the n...

  3. says:

    An impressive young adult novel about loss, honesty and maybe above all, self reliance.Through the use of multiple relationships, Galante has demonstrated how the meeting of souls, young and old, and I guess furry ones too along our paths in life, has the ability to educate us on the ways in which we could and should beempathetic towards one another The interwoven bonds amongst these c...

  4. says:

    I loved this book It made me smile and cry and swoon and have all the feels Such a well written book and a story and plot line that will just touch your heart in every way possible I absolutely recommend this book

  5. says:

    An excellent read for all I could not put down this book If it wasn t a school night I probably would have read waaaay past my bedtime to finish Could be used as a read aloud too.

  6. says:

    3.5 for this one for some situations that seemed too convenient, but it is touching and particularly relevant, and will be popular with middle grade readers After all, many of them live and love parents that are dealing with various addictions and insist that they are going to get well soon, just as is the case here, and many of them have deep reserves of anger and resentment that prompt them to lash out, usua...

  7. says:

    My thoughts Winifred Fred isn t like your ordinary twelve year old She has a mom that has been arrested and is being held in jail because her boss said she had stolen some pills from work Her mom says that it was a big mistake and that she didn t do anything In the meantime she has been placed within the foster system and is currently staying with a new foster named Margery.Margery isn t like your typical foster She rides a motorcycle, collects junk ...

  8. says:

    Reviewed for www.compassbookratings.comOverall Review When you learn how to use the anger inside you to create instead of destroy, you ll realize it s one of the greatest tools you ll ever have Cecilia Galante, Strays Like UsStrays Like Us is a poignant, character driven story Written by Cecilia Galante, this middle grade read follows Fred as she tries to...

  9. says:

    The attractive cover is what first drew me to choose this book The title, Strays like us with a girl hugging a dog all framed by a brightly lite window has the reader looking at both figures from behind.it is hopeful image, despite the almost desperateness of the girl s embrace of the dog This is not the usual child pet story, but one where human animal situations mirror the lives they have led up to a certain point.and then their paths cross as are made choices that have a The attractive cover is what first drew me to choose this book The title, Strays like us with a girl hugging a dog all framed by a brightly lite window has the reader looking at both figures from behind.it is hopeful image, despite the almost desperateness of the girl s embrace of the dog This is not the usual child pet story, b...

  10. says:

    This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers To view it, click here view spoiler Trigger warning this book deals with a twelve year old going into foster care because of her mother s pill addiction If this is a concern, read the author s note at the end of the book first hide spoiler Fred is placed in foster care with first time foster parent Margery Almost instantly she falls in love with Toby, the neglected dog next door who belongs to grumpy and mean Mr Calder Along with reaching out to Toby, she stands up for a classmate who is being teased at her view spoiler Trigger warning this book dea...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *